Personal · Posts · Uncategorized

Pax Lodge and other plans

So, one month into the summer holidays, and guiding has once more taken over my life. I’ve been back to home brownies and guides twice, where in brownies they made pompoms (which they found frustrating, but liked the end result), and boomerangs out of a cross shape of card which I will attempt sometime and post a proper link to because it worked nicely) and my new shiny well behaved guides (the troublemakers have left yay) did their Go For It!s in patrols. 

Anyway, on to more important things. This week I had the most amazing trip to London with my boyfriend, so I dragged him around the one and only London WAGGGS centre- Pax Lodge. What an amazing place, it radiates friendship and unity and really makes you feel part of something. Talking to the South American receptionist who is also a brownie leader really made me feel connected to so many other women all over the world. Guiding is truly beautiful. My bored scout didn’t seem to be having the same epiphany as me, but that’s what you get for dating a guide. It was a truly wonderful experience to see one of the world centres at last and learn more about guiding worldwide and it’s history. I spent an obscene amount in the shop – £18 and would’ve spent more quite happily. 


My camp blanket now looks beautiful as the badges I got from my first world centre have filled up my second perimeter nicely, but getting the Pax Lodge pin through the awful new style badge tabs was a pain. 10/10 would recommend a visit, just look how thrilled I am. 

5 thoughts on “Pax Lodge and other plans

    1. It was amazing! I learnt a lot more about the history of guiding, (for example, Robert BPs sister was a lot more involved than I thought) and much more about their trial 5th world centre in Africa. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to learn much because of my bored scout that I was dragging along but I really recommend going there! We also did the museums, the zoo, and other touristy stuff, it was really lovely 🙂

      Like

      1. Yeah, I read somewhere about his sister being VERY involved as well. To me, I’d always learned about it as if it was the Robert and Olave Show – I’ve also just read that Robert and Agnes were two of FOURTEEN children. I haven’t learned much about the world centre in Africa yet. What is there to learn about? There seemed to be a lot of different badges show on their Instagram account (including one for a Harry Potter challenge)!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Same! Because thinking day is always the birthday of Robert and Olave, people tend to forget about Agnes, which is such a shame! Well I knew nothing about it so reading about how its set up and moves around to different places which I didn’t know about. What’s their Instagram? I don’t think I’ve seen it

        Like

Leave a Reply

